Banco Santander BBVA Banesto Bankia, Madrid La Caixa bank Banco Sabadell
Banco Santander BBVA Banesto Bankia CaixaBank Sabadell

Abanca Corporación Bancaria – A savings bank focused on the regions of Galicia, Asturias and Leon. It was established as a result of merger of NCG Banco and Banco Etcheverría in 2014.

Bankia – A banking conglomerate with over seven million customers and approximately 1,850 branches throughout Spain. As of May 10, 2018, it had a market capitalization of EUR 12 billion.

Bancaja was the largest financial institution in the Autonomous Community of Valencia and one of the largest savings banks in Spain.

Banco Cooperativo Español (Spanish Cooperative Bank) was established in July 1990. The share capital of the Bank is held by 41 Spanish credit cooperatives and a German credit institution (DZ Bank AG).

Banco de Valencia (BVA) – A Spanish banking institution founded in 1900. It operated a network of over 400 branches located in Valencia, Alicante, Barcelona, Madrid, Zaragoza, Tarragona, Castellon, Navarra, Murcia etc. In 2013, Banco de Valencia merged with CaixaBank.

Banco Etcheverria, founded in 1717, is the oldest bank in the Span. It was integrated into ABANCA Corporación Bancaria.

Banco Santander – The largest bank in Spain and one of the top 20 banks in the world by assets and market capitalization (US$106 billion, May 10, 2018).

BFA Tenedora de Acciones – The parent company of Bankia SA.

Banco Mare Nostrum (BMN) – A Spanish financial institution providing retail banking services.

Bank of Spain (Banco de España) – The central bank of Spain, established in 1782 by Charles III. It belongs to the European System of Central Banks. While the introduction of the single currency and the setting up of the Eurosystem have led to a redefinition of some of Banco de España’s functions, the institution continues to perform the tasks assigned to it under the Law of Autonomy as the National Central Bank.

Banco Pastor, founded in 1776, is one the oldest banks in Spain. It offers deposit products, consumer and commercial loans, credit cards, insurance, private banking, internet banking and other services. Banco Pastor operates as a subsidiary of Banco Popular Espanol.

Banesto (Banco Espanol de Credito) was a Spanish bank owned by the Santander Group.

Banco Popular Español – One of the largest commercial banking groups in Spain. It provides a variety of financial solutions to consumer and business customers via branches in Spain, Portugal, USA and representative offices in Latin America, the Middle East, Asia, and elsewhere in Europe.

Banco Sabadell – The fourth largest banking group in Spain. As of December 1, 2017, it had a market capitalization of over US$11 billion.

Banca Civica was established in 2010 through the merger of Caja Navarra, Caja Canarias, Caja de Burgos and Cajasol. In August 2012, Banca Civica became a member of CaixaBank.

Bankinter, S.A. – A Spanish commercial bank established in 1965 through a joint venture by Banco Santander and Bank of America.

Bankpime was a private savings and loan institution in Catalonia. It was acquired by CaixaBank.

BBVA (Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria) – A multinational Spanish financial group with a presence in more than 30 countries. It operates in Europe, Latin America, United States, China and Turkey.

Bilbao Bizkaia Kutxa (BBK) merged with other Basque savings banks (Kutxa and Caja Vital) to form Kutxabank S.A.

Caja España-Duero was a Spanish savings bank created in 2010 through the merger of Caja Espana and Caja Duero.

Caja Madrid – Established in 1702, it is the oldest Spanish savings bank. In 2011, it merged with other savings banks to form Bankia.

Caixa Balears "SA NOSTRA" was the leading savings bank of the Balearic Islands.

CaixaBank – A leading Spanish bank with nearly 14 million individual and business customers. It was named Best Bank and Best Private Bank in Spain by Global Finance and Euromoney.

Caixa Catalunya was the fifth largest savings bank in Spain and the second largest banking institution in Catalonia. It merged with Caixa Tarragona and Caixa Manresa to form a new entity under the name CatalunyaCaixa.

Caja Vital Kutxa was the leading financial institution in the province of Alava (Spain). It was established in 1850 and is headquartered in Vitoria-Gasteiz. Caja Vital merged with Bilbao Bizkaia Kutxa (BBK) and Gipuzkoa Donostia Kutxa (Kutxa).

Catalunya Banc, S.A. – The financial entity created in October 2011, after taking over the banking business of its predecessor CatalunyaCaixa. In July 2014, BBVA purchased bailed-out lender Catalunya Banc from Spain’s government.

CatalunyaCaixa was created in July 2010 as a result of the merger of Catalan savings banks. In 2011, it transferred its banking business to Catalunya Banc, S.A.

Caixa Galicia – A Spanish savings bank based in A Coruña. On December 1, 2010, Caixa Galicia merged with Caixanova to form NovaCaixaGalicia.

Caja Mediterraneo (CAM) was savings bank with over 3.3 million customers and more than 1,100 branches across Spain. It also had operations in the Americas, Africa, Asia, and elsewhere in Europe.

Grupo Caja Rural – One of the largest banking groups in Spain with more than 2,700 offices and 9,160 employees. The Group represents 80% all banks in Spain's cooperative sector.

Ibercaja Banco – One of the 10 largest Spanish banking groups. It operates through over 1,270 branches nationwide and employs approximately 5,600 people.

Kutxa (Gipuzkoa Donostia Kutxa) merged with other Basque savings banks to form Kutxabank S.A.

Kutxabank S.A. was formed on January 1, 2012, through the merger of three Basque savings banks, namely BBK (Bilbao Bizkaia Kutxa), Kutxa (Gipuzkoa Donostia Kutxa), and Caja Vital.

La Caixa was one of the largest savings banks in Spain. In 2011, it transferred its financial business to CaixaBank.

Liberbank S.A. – A leader in the retail markets of Cantabria, Asturias, Castile-La Mancha and Extremadura. It manages such brands as Cajastur (Caja de Ahorros de Asturias), Caja de Extramadura, Caja Cantabria and CCM.

NovaCaixaGalicia was one the largest savings banks in Spain with more than 1,000 offices and about 8,000 employees. In 2011, Novacaixagalicia contributed all of its banking assets and liabilities to NCG Banco SA.

Unicaja – A financial institution headquartered in Málaga, Andalusia.

Unnim – A Spanish savings bank, the result of the 2010 merger of three small savings banks (Caixa Manlleu, Caixa Sabadell and Caixa Terrassa). In March 2012, Unnim was acquired by BBVA.

The Largest Banks in Spain

 Total assets, EUR billion

Rank Bank 06/2017 FY 2016 FY 2015 FY 2014 FY 2013 FY 2012 FY 2011
1 Banco Santander 1,445.26 1,339.13 1,340.26 1,266.30 1,115.76 1,269.65 1,251.01
2 BBVA 702.429 731.856 749.855 631.942 582.697 621.132 582.838
3 CaixaBank 378.684 347.927 344.255 338.623 340.320 348.174 270.425
4 Banco de Sabadell 217.458 212.508 208.628 163.346 163.442 161.547 100.437
5 Bankia 180.884 190.167 206.970 233.649 251.472 282.31 302.846
6 Banco Popular Espanol * 122.060 137.474 158.650 161.457 146.710 157.618 130.926
7 Bankinter 71.180 67.182 58.660 57.333 55.158 58.166 59.491
8 KutxaBank 57.270 56.516 58.376 59.413 60.762 66.707 n/a
9 Caja Rural Group n/a 57.359 55.650 55.645 55.905 59.821 n/a
10 Unicaja Banco (1) 56.472 57.241 60.312 67.950 41.258 n/a n/a
11 Ibercaja Banco 55.550 57.176 58.922 62.323 63.149 44.664 45.145
12 Abanca Corporacion Bancaria (2) 49.322 45.138 47.267 54.202 52.745 59.714 n/a

(1) - In March 2014, Unicaja Bank acquired Banco CEISS.
(2) - Abanca Corporacion Bancaria was formerly known as NCG Banco, S.A.
* Banco Popular Espanol, S.A. was acquired by Banco Santander in June 2017.