List of Banks in Ireland

Bank of Ireland Allied Irish Banks Permanent TSB Group National Irish Bank Ulster Bank Ireland
Bank of Ireland Allied Irish Banks Permanent TSB National Irish Bank Ulster Bank Ireland

The Ireland's banking sector includes approximately 60 credit institutions. The country's four largest banks are AIB, Bank of Ireland, Ulster Bank and Citibank Europe.

Allied Irish Banks (AIB) – One of the largest retail and commercial banks in Ireland with over 200 branches nationwide. As of May 10, 2018, it had a market capitalization of US$16 billion.

Bank of Ireland – The largest financial services group in Ireland with total assets of over EUR 120 billion. It was named the safest bank in the country by Global Finance magazine. As of May 11, 2018, the company had a market capitalization of EUR 8.1 billion. BOI is one of the pillars of the Irish banking system.

Bank of Montreal Ireland – A subsidiary of BMO Financial Group, one of the leading banks in Canada.

Barclays Bank Ireland offers corporate banking, investment banking and asset management.

Citibank (Ireland)

Danske Bank (Ireland) is a branch of the Danske Bank Group, one of the strongest and best capitalized banking groups in Europe.

Dell Bank International DAC (formerly known as Dell Bank International Ltd)

DEPFA Bank – A subsidiary of FMS Wertmanagement AöR, the German state agency.

DZ BANK Ireland plc (formerly WGZ BANK Ireland plc) was founded in 1995 and is headquartered in Dublin. It provides short, medium and long term loans to banks and high quality borrowers worldwide. The company operates as a subsidiary of DZ Bank AG, Germany.

EBS d.a.c. provides savings, mortgages, investments, pension and insurance products, online banking and other services. It was the largest building society in Ireland until 2011.

Elavon Financial Services DAC

Hewlett-Packard International Bank

Intesa Sanpaolo Bank Ireland

JP Morgan Bank (Ireland)

KBC Bank Ireland has been operating in Ireland for over 40 years. It has offices in Dublin, Limerick, Cork and Galway and employs approximately 1,000 people.

LGT Bank AG, Dublin Branch is a subsidiary of LGT Group, one of the largest private banking and asset management groups in the world.

Merrill Lynch International Bank

Permanent TSB Group (formerly Irish Life & Permanent Group) – The Irish retail and SME bank offering current accounts, deposit products, mortgages, loans, credit cards, overdrafts, insurance, online and mobile banking and other services.

Scotiabank (Ireland)

Ulster Bank – One of the largest commercial banks in Ireland. It operates as a subsidiary of The Royal Bank of Scotland Group. Ulster Bank serves over 1.9 million customers across the Republic of Ireland and North Ireland.

UniCredit Bank Ireland – A subsidiary of Italian UniCredit SpA. It provides a wide range of business banking services to credit institutions and multinational companies. As of June 30, 2017, it had total assets of €19 billion and customer deposits of €5.8 billion.

Wells Fargo Bank International

WestLB Ireland plc is a subsidiary of Portigon AG, a commercial bank domiciled in North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany. WestLB Ireland was formerly known as Westdeutsche Landesbank (Ireland).

Banking Hours: Banks in Ireland are normally open from 9.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Top 10 Banks in Ireland

Bank of Ireland Group

Allied Irish Banks (AIB)

Ulster Bank Ireland

CitiBank Europe plc

Permanent TSB Group


EBS d.a.c

UniCredit Bank Ireland

Intesa Sanpaolo Bank Ireland

KBC Bank Ireland plc

Defunct Banks

ACC Loan Management (formerly ACC Bank) was a commercial bank with focus on agriculture and SME lending. ACC Loan Management is a subsidiary of Rabobank.

Anglo Irish Bank was an Irish bank established in 1964. In July 2011, it merged with Irish Nationwide Building Society to form Irish Bank Resolution Corporation.

First Active Plc merged with Ulster Bank in 2009.

Bank of Scotland (Ireland) (formerly ICC Bank plc) - The assets of the Bank were merged into Bank of Scotland in 2010.

Irish Bank Resolution Corporation (IBRC) was an asset recovery bank. Currently, Irish Bank Resolution Corporation is in liquidation.

Irish Life & Permanent Group was a leading provider of personal financial services in the Irish market with strong market positions in life and pensions, fund management and retail banking. In 2012, Irish Life & Permanent Group Holdings changed its name to Permanent TSB Group Holdings.

National Irish Bank (NIB) was one of the Big Four commercial banks in Ireland. In 2012, National Irish Bank closed down its branch network and rebranded as Danske Bank.

Naspa Dublin was a fully licensed bank founded in 1991. It operated as a subsidiary Nassauische Sparkasse (Naspa), one of German's largest savings banks.

Postbank Ireland, established in 2006, was a 50/50 venture between An Post and Fortis Bank. The closure of the Postbank was announced in February 2010. Postbank services are no longer available in post offices and all Postbank accounts have been closed.