ANZ ASB Bank of New Zealand Reserve Bank of New Zealand Westpac

ANZ Bank New Zealand – One of the leading banks serving more than 1 million customers. It finances more than 30% of all home loans in New Zealand. As of September 30, 2016, the company had total assets of NZ$161 billion.

ASB Bank – One of the leading commercial banks in New Zealand. It offers various personal and business banking products through over 125 branches. The company was named The New Zealand Bank of the Year by The Banker Magazine. ASB is a subsidiary of Commonwealth Bank of Australia.

Bank of Baroda (New Zealand) – A wholly owned subsidiary of Bank of Baroda, India’s International Bank. It was incorporated in May 2007 and was the first Indian bank to foray into New Zealand.

Bank of New Zealand (BNZ) – One of largest financial institutions in the country with assets of NZ$93billion. It operates as a subsidiary of National Australia Bank.

Citibank New Zealand Branch provides a full range of corporate and investment banking services. Citi has been operating in New Zealand since 1974.

Deutsche Bank NZ went out of business. It provided a full range of products and services to corporate and institutional clients in New Zealand.

HBS Bank (formerly Hastings Building Society) provided banking and financial services in Hastings, Napier and Havelock, serving the Hawke's Bay region.

Heartland Bank (formerly Heartland Building Society) offers products and services for the household, business and rural sectors. As of February 14, 2017, it had a market capitalization of NZ$780 million.

Kiwibank – A wholly owned subsidiary of New Zealand Post. Through Kiwibank, New Zealand Post provides banking services through PostShops and joint venture Books & More and Papermate outlets.

National Bank of New Zealand (NBNZ) was one of the largest banks in the country. NBNZ was acquired by ANZ Group in 2003, for A$4.9 billion.

Rabobank New Zealand – A part of international Rabobank Group, Netherlands. It is currently the third largest lender to primary producers in New Zealand and the second largest in Australia.

Reserve Bank of New Zealand (RBNZ) – New Zealand's central bank. RBNZ's primary function is to provide "stability in the general level of prices".

SBS Bank (Southland Building Society) – A member-owned bank headquartered in Invercargill.

The Co-operative Bank – A member-owned financial organization with nearly 150,000 customers.

TSB Bank – A nationwide bank based in New Plymouth. TSB Community Trust is the owner and sole shareholder of TSB Bank Limited.

Westpac New Zealand – The second largest bank in New Zealand, with over 1.2 million customers, 3,000 shareholders, 200 branches and over 500 ATMs nationwide.

 Credit Ratings of New Zealand's Banks

Bank Moody's Standard & Poors Fitch
ANZ Bank New Zealand Aa3 AA- AA-
ASB Bank Aa3 AA- AA-
Bank of New Zealand Aa3 AA- AA-
Kiwibank Limited Aa3 A+ AA+
Westpac New Zealand Aa3 AA- AA-
Bank of Baroda (New Zealand) - - BBB-
Bank of China (New Zealand) A1 - -
Bank of India (New Zealand) - BB+ -
China Construction Bank (New Zealand) A1 A -
Citibank NA A1 A A+
Commonwealth Bank of Australia Aa2 AA- AA-
Heartland Bank Limited - - BBB
ICBC (New Zealand) A1 A -
JPMorgan Chase Bank Aa3 A+ AA-
Kookmin Bank (B) A1 A -
Rabobank New Zealand - A -
Southland Building Society - - BBB
The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ A1 A+ A
The Co-operative Bank Limited - - BBB
The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corp Aa2 AA- AA-
TSB Bank Limited - - A-

Ratings as of February 2017