National Irish Bank

National Irish Bank (NIB) was one of the Big Four commercial banks in Ireland. It offered a full range of financial services to personal and business customers. In 2005, National Irish Bank was acquired by Danske Bank Group and became a full branch of the Danske Bank in April 2007. In November 2012, National Irish Bank closed its last 27 branches and was rebranded as Danske Bank. Since November 2012, all banking activities have been gathered under the Danske Bank brand. Following the closure of the Bank’s branch network, personal customers can contact a large team of advisors at Danske Bank seven days a week. Danske Bank Advisory Centres are located in Waterford, Athlone, Cork, Limerick, Letterkenny and across Dublin in the IFSC, Tallaght, Swords and Stillorgan. Routine banking services are also available through An Post. The history of National Irish Bank can be traced back to 1809 with the formation of the Northern Banking Partnership – which became the Northern Bank in 1924. The Northern Bank (Ireland) Ltd was acquired by Midland Bank in 1965 and then was sold in 1987 to National Australia Bank Group, which rebranded its operation in the Republic as National Irish Bank (NIB). In December 2004, Danske Bank agreed to purchase National Irish Bank from the National Australia Bank for US$1.9 billion.

Headquarters address:
3 Harbourmaster Place
IFSC, Dublin 1