Monetary Authority of Singapore
MAS Headquarters  


Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) is the central bank of Singapore. It was set up in 1971 to oversee various monetary functions associated with banking as well as finance. Before its establishment, monetary functions were performed by government departments and agencies. In 1977, the Government decided to bring the regulation of the insurance industry under the wing of MAS and the regulatory functions under the Securities Industry Act were transferred to MAS in 1984. Monetary Authority of Singapore’s mission is to promote sustained non-inflationary economic growth.

List of Chairmen:
Hon Sui Sen (Jan 1971 - Jul 1980)
Goh Keng Swee (Aug 1980 - Jan 1985)
Richard Hu (Jan 1985 - Dec 1997)
Lee Hsien Loong (Jan 1998 - Aug 2004)
Goh Chok Tong (Aug 2004 - May 2011)
Tharman Shanmugaratnam (2011 - Present)

Headquarters address:
10 Shenton Way
MAS Building
079117 Singapore
Phone number: +65-6225-5577
Fax: +65-6229- 9229