Deutsche Bundesbank
Deutsche Bundesbank, Berlin  

Deutsche Bundesbank

Deutsche Bundesbank is the central bank of the Federal Republic of Germany established in 1957. Since 1999, it has been a part of the European System of Central Banks (ESCB). Due to its strength, the Bank is the most important member of the ESCB. Deutsche Bundesbank and the European Central Bank (ECB) are headquartered in Frankfurt. The Bank is independent from the Federal Government and its status is comparable to status of the Federal Constitutional Court. With approximately 9,800 employees, Deutsche Bundesbank has nine regional offices located in Berlin, Düsseldorf, Frankfurt am Main, Hamburg, Hanover, Leipzig, Mainz, Munich and Stuttgart. The regional offices in turn have 35 branches. The Bank uses its network to perform operations in the fields of refinancing, cashless payments and banking supervision. Each regional office is headed by a President, who is answerable to the Executive Board. The Executive Board includes six members: the President, the Vice-President and four other members. The members are appointed by the President of Germany. The President, Vice-President and one other member are nominated by the Federal Government; the other 3 members are nominated by the Bundesrat. In 2013, Deutsche Bundesbank decided that half of the country’s gold reserves should be stored in its own vaults in Frankfurt by 2020. The transport of 300 t of gold from New York was completed in 2016.

 Key Statistics (2016):

Distributable profit €399 million
Net interest income €3.319 billion
Balance sheet total €1,393 billion
Foreign reserve assets €175.8 billion
Gold 3,377,967 kg (109 million ounces)
Visitors to the Money Museum 2,295

Presidents of Deutsche Bundesbank:
1958 - 1969 Karl Blessing
1969 - 1977 Karl Klasen
1977 - 1979 Otmar Emminger
1980 - 1991 Karl Otto Pöhl
1991 - 1993 Helmut Schlesinger
1993 - 1999 Hans Tietmeyer
1999 - 2004 Ernst Welteke
2004 Jurgen Stark, Interim President
2004 - 2011 Axel A. Weber
2011  - Jens Weidmann

Headquarters address:
Wilhelm-Epstein-Strasse 14
Frankfurt am Main D-60431
Phone: +49 69 9566 3511
Fax: +49 69 9566 4679