Czech National Bank Zdenek Tuma, Czech National Bank
Head office in Prague Zdenek Tuma, former CNB Governor

Czech National Bank (CNB) is the central bank of the Czech Republic established in January 1993, after the dissolution of Czechoslovakia. CNB was formerly known as Czechoslovak National Bank (CSNB, 1919–1993). As a central bank CNB provides banking services to the state and the public sector. It also issues banknotes and performs supervision of the banking and financial sector. The CNB’s primary objective is to maintain price stability. The Bank is a part of the European Central Banks System and is obligated to follow the regulations set by the Statute in the extension of requirements for those European Union member states which have not yet accepted the euro as their national currency. The supreme governing body of the CNB is the Bank Board consisting of the CNB Governor, two Vice-Governors and four Chief Executive Directors. The Bank Board members are appointed by the President of the Czech Republic for a period of six years for a maximum of two terms of office. Czech National Bank has seven regional branches located in Prague, Ústí nad Labem, Plzeň, České Budějovice, Hradec Králové, Brno and Ostrava. The total assets of the Czech banking sector amounted to CZK 5.732 trillion (US$237.8 billion) at the end of August 2015. Deposits of residents totalled CZK 3.628 trillion (US$150.5 billion).

Head office address:
Na Prikope 28
115 03 Praha 1
Phone number: +420 224 411 111
Fax: +420 224 412 404
Green line: +420 800 160 170